40k Rules Question

Discussion of Games Workshop's systems and their universes

40k Rules Question

Postby seriesofbadjokes » Wednesday 21st August, 2013 6:25 pm

Tried looking in the FAQ, no reference!

If a model with a high strength weapon (say, plasma gun) has the sniper rule and hits a low toughness enemy, can he choose not to use the sniper "always wound on a 4+" rule?
"Home, home on LaGrange: Where the space debris always collects: We possess, so it seems, two of Man's greatest dreams: Solar power and zero-gee sex."
User avatar
seriesofbadjokes
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Monday 29th June, 2009 12:16 pm

Re: 40k Rules Question

Postby noodle » Wednesday 21st August, 2013 7:27 pm

Does the model or the usual weapon have the sniper rule?
http://alephsector.blogspot.com/ <---- Aleph sector blog
http://alephsectorfiction.blogspot.com/ <---- Aleph sector fiction
http://ww2campaign.blogspot.co.uk/ <---- WW2 campaign
http://palurin.blogspot.com/ <---- Warhammer campaign
noodle
 
Posts: 1165
Joined: Tuesday 30th June, 2009 9:04 pm

Re: 40k Rules Question

Postby seriesofbadjokes » Wednesday 21st August, 2013 9:03 pm

Model, but found the answer anyway in the Forgeworld FAQ section ;)

Q: Can you tell me how the Sniper rule applies to the Legion Veteran Tactical squad (if it is
chosen as an option) and the Vigilator?
A: All of the shooting attacks made by these units gain the ability to inflict Precision Shots (see page
63 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook) if they did not already do so. In addition, all of the model’s
shooting attacks never need greater than a 4+ to wound their targets, regardless of their weapon’s
relative Strength and their target’s Toughness. Note that if they would normally need less than 4+ to
wound thanks to their weapon’s Strength, the better To Wound roll is still used. (So a Melta gun fired
at a Space Marine by a Tactical Veteran with the Sniper special rule still only needs a 2+ to wound
regardless for example). Other special rules for the weapon they are using remain unchanged.

It's all cool, works as I thought it should.
"Home, home on LaGrange: Where the space debris always collects: We possess, so it seems, two of Man's greatest dreams: Solar power and zero-gee sex."
User avatar
seriesofbadjokes
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Monday 29th June, 2009 12:16 pm


Return to The Dark Nightmare of the Grim Dark Nightmarish Future

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron