FAQ Updates

Discussion of Games Workshop's systems and their universes

FAQ Updates

Postby The Kremlin » Wednesday 16th January, 2013 12:25 pm

More Warhammer FAQ updates, and they've now dated the files... still no fix for unmodified leadership though :-(

War Altars and Screaming Bells take a little bit of a hit, and Purple Sun is even more awesome.
The Kremlin
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Wednesday 14th October, 2009 6:13 pm

Re: FAQ Updates

Postby Morph » Wednesday 16th January, 2013 6:25 pm

40k got a lot of FAQs updated too.

Random things to note...
Vector Strikes don't allow cover saves.
Rending is not Ap2 vs vehicles.
Flyers can't enter then leave the battlefield in the same turn.

And for the cheesy combo watchers...
Typhus can now have big zombie units, though they don't count as Nurgle models for Epidemius' tally.
"Sometimes I worry my brilliance is a curse! But then I remember that actually no, it's super great!"
User avatar
Morph
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Monday 29th June, 2009 11:05 pm

Re: FAQ Updates

Postby Rommel » Thursday 17th January, 2013 9:33 am

Helldrakes now have 360 arc, vector strike a vehicle then shoot hades autocannon behind them in the rear armour. That doesn't sound pleasant. Not sure if that makes it better than the bale flamer though.

Internet is raging about the deathwing assault and 50% reserve limit rule. Lol.
A Murder of Ravens - A Raven Guard Blog

40K Armies: Corellian Storm Guard, Raven Guard, Grey Knights
FoW: .78 Sturmdivision, 2nd SS Panzer Division "Das Reich"
User avatar
Rommel
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Sunday 13th May, 2012 8:43 pm
Location: Danger Zone

Re: FAQ Updates

Postby Rommel » Thursday 17th January, 2013 9:37 am

Why is rending not AP2 against vehicles? Seems like an odd ruling.
A Murder of Ravens - A Raven Guard Blog

40K Armies: Corellian Storm Guard, Raven Guard, Grey Knights
FoW: .78 Sturmdivision, 2nd SS Panzer Division "Das Reich"
User avatar
Rommel
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Sunday 13th May, 2012 8:43 pm
Location: Danger Zone

Re: FAQ Updates

Postby IronWithin » Thursday 17th January, 2013 11:16 am

Rommel wrote:Helldrakes now have 360 arc, vector strike a vehicle then shoot hades autocannon behind them in the rear armour. That doesn't sound pleasant. Not sure if that makes it better than the bale flamer though.

Internet is raging about the deathwing assault and 50% reserve limit rule. Lol.

It makes it more viable, but the Baledrake wins out always IMO, Investing 170 points in something that is only really useful against one unit type is not optimal, whereas the baleflamer gives it multiple purpose (Vector flyers, flame troops).

over 50% for DW is wishful thinking. They should get lost with that as it would be obscene if the whole army could deploy on your turn 1 missing a whole first turn of the game.
“From Iron cometh strength. From strength cometh will. From will cometh faith. From faith cometh honour. From honour cometh iron. This is the Unbreakable Litany. And may it forever be so."
http://theunbreakablelitany.blogspot.co.uk/
User avatar
IronWithin
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Saturday 18th February, 2012 10:08 pm

Re: FAQ Updates

Postby The Kremlin » Thursday 17th January, 2013 12:15 pm

Rending not AP2 was always the case - the AP2 triggers on a to wound roll, and the roll vs vehicles is a penetration roll - the equivalent you get is the +D3.
The Kremlin
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Wednesday 14th October, 2009 6:13 pm

Re: FAQ Updates

Postby Comrade_Nikolai » Thursday 17th January, 2013 2:26 pm

The Kremlin wrote:War Altars and Screaming Bells take a little bit of a hit,


Now skaven get to find out what it feels like to be on the other side of a doom spell...
"At 6 inches tall the Imperial Knight is a towering war engine."
Comrade_Nikolai
Treasurer
 
Posts: 800
Joined: Monday 29th June, 2009 8:57 am

Re: FAQ Updates

Postby Talorian » Thursday 17th January, 2013 6:06 pm

IronWithin wrote:over 50% for DW is wishful thinking. They should get lost with that as it would be obscene if the whole army could deploy on your turn 1 missing a whole first turn of the game.

Isn't that what Daemons and all drop pod armies do!
User avatar
Talorian
 
Posts: 1004
Joined: Wednesday 1st July, 2009 7:51 pm

Re: FAQ Updates

Postby Rick » Thursday 17th January, 2013 6:34 pm

Only half of drop pod armies deploy turn 1 (daemons depend on how you split them). With deathwing terminators you get to choose for each squad whether they are coming down turn 1 or 2 and when they do so they count as having twin linked weaponry for their first round of shooting - which can be quite nasty if you have them all come down turn 1, especially if you use ravenwing to place them on the table without scattering.

It would be nice fluffwise to be able to take an entire deathwing army and teleport them in but I can see why people might find it objectionable.
40k: Tau (gothic, AI), Tyranids (NetEpic, gothic), Dark Angels
WFB: Skaven (uncharted seas)
Also Played: Warmachine/Hordes, Infinity, Flames of War
Rick
 
Posts: 693
Joined: Thursday 2nd July, 2009 4:03 pm

Re: FAQ Updates

Postby Rommel » Thursday 17th January, 2013 8:18 pm

I think GW will FAQ it so you can reserve an all deathwing army - those £35 boxes of terminators aren't going to shift themselves.

Reading some of the warseer rants though is painful. People arguing they are not in reserve, they are in a deathwing assault, so there ignore the reserves rules? But then if they are not in reserve, where are they?

I've just had a quick flick through the FAQ now and noticed:
Q: If your Warlor’s Warlord Trait confers a specific ability to a unit
or units in your army, is this ability always immediately lost when
the Warlord is killed? (p111)
A: Yes. Further, if the Warlord Trait conferred a special rule
that allows an unusual method of deployment from Reserves
(such as conferring Infiltrate to allow a unit to Outflank)
that special rule is immediately lost and the unit must deploy
from Reserves in the normal fashion.


^GW needs a new proof reader as even the errata is full of spelling mistakes.

Not that I ever remember about my warlord traits, but is this for ALL warlord traits? As some specifically mention if the warlord is alive, others do not - e.g - Conqueror of Cities. I'm guessing yes?
A Murder of Ravens - A Raven Guard Blog

40K Armies: Corellian Storm Guard, Raven Guard, Grey Knights
FoW: .78 Sturmdivision, 2nd SS Panzer Division "Das Reich"
User avatar
Rommel
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Sunday 13th May, 2012 8:43 pm
Location: Danger Zone

Re: FAQ Updates

Postby IronWithin » Thursday 17th January, 2013 9:42 pm

Rommel wrote:I think GW will FAQ it so you can reserve an all deathwing army - those £35 boxes of terminators aren't going to shift themselves.

Reading some of the warseer rants though is painful. People arguing they are not in reserve, they are in a deathwing assault, so there ignore the reserves rules? But then if they are not in reserve, where are they?

You should try B&C Chaos Ascendant forum, the nerd rage is infectious
“From Iron cometh strength. From strength cometh will. From will cometh faith. From faith cometh honour. From honour cometh iron. This is the Unbreakable Litany. And may it forever be so."
http://theunbreakablelitany.blogspot.co.uk/
User avatar
IronWithin
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Saturday 18th February, 2012 10:08 pm

Re: FAQ Updates

Postby Rick » Wednesday 27th February, 2013 1:42 am

FYI there's been another round of warhammer FAQ updates.
40k: Tau (gothic, AI), Tyranids (NetEpic, gothic), Dark Angels
WFB: Skaven (uncharted seas)
Also Played: Warmachine/Hordes, Infinity, Flames of War
Rick
 
Posts: 693
Joined: Thursday 2nd July, 2009 4:03 pm

Re: FAQ Updates

Postby The Kremlin » Wednesday 27th February, 2013 1:05 pm

Oddly from what I can tell none of the FAQs have actually updated other than to change version number.

(OK, the chaos dwarf FAQ now has the Hellcannon at the new WoC price).
The Kremlin
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Wednesday 14th October, 2009 6:13 pm

Re: FAQ Updates

Postby The Kremlin » Tuesday 23rd April, 2013 12:45 pm

Major set of FAQ updates as of today. Some really big changes.
The Kremlin
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Wednesday 14th October, 2009 6:13 pm

Re: FAQ Updates

Postby Sam » Tuesday 23rd April, 2013 1:10 pm

Striking changes.

One thing: what might one infer from the "Page 71- Special Rules, Resolving Impact Hits" i.e. is this suggesting that characters/champions (front ranks in units) can be targeted by impact hits? That seems weird. Am I just reading this wrong?
"Unleashing a rancid potpouri of lunacy..."
Who writes this stuff?
User avatar
Sam
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Sunday 5th July, 2009 7:53 pm

Re: FAQ Updates

Postby The Kremlin » Tuesday 23rd April, 2013 1:21 pm

That is written for the specific situations in which characters can be hit by Impact Hits - when they are on their own outside a unit (but in this case, within 3" of a unit to get a 4+ LOS against other stuff); or when there are less than 5 rank and file models remaining.

It is still clear to my reading that characters in a large enough unit cannot be hit by impact hits.

For your VC Sam, it's a mixed bag - you now get General's LD on your Terrorgheists for Spirit Leech, and can definitely heal your characters with the lore attribute, but also overrun on a crumble is back.
The Kremlin
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Wednesday 14th October, 2009 6:13 pm

Re: FAQ Updates

Postby Sam » Tuesday 23rd April, 2013 1:28 pm

Ahh, I'd forgotten about Look Out for characters near units. Now it makes sense.

Yeah not a bad result for Vampires. I think I'll cope without the Crumble/Overrun blocking. Strange that they should U-turn on this when implemented relatively recently. I guess the feeling must be that it's being used abusively/ it's too powerful.
"Unleashing a rancid potpouri of lunacy..."
Who writes this stuff?
User avatar
Sam
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Sunday 5th July, 2009 7:53 pm

Re: FAQ Updates

Postby IronWithin » Tuesday 23rd April, 2013 6:27 pm

Abaddon can no longer be spawned, this makes me happy :)
“From Iron cometh strength. From strength cometh will. From will cometh faith. From faith cometh honour. From honour cometh iron. This is the Unbreakable Litany. And may it forever be so."
http://theunbreakablelitany.blogspot.co.uk/
User avatar
IronWithin
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Saturday 18th February, 2012 10:08 pm

Re: FAQ Updates

Postby Talorian » Tuesday 23rd April, 2013 9:14 pm

IronWithin wrote:Abaddon can no longer be spawned, this makes me happy :)


So they took away his only downside. Hmmm there's a good idea, over powered character who is nigh on invulnerable, so lets make him better!
User avatar
Talorian
 
Posts: 1004
Joined: Wednesday 1st July, 2009 7:51 pm

Re: FAQ Updates

Postby Comrade_Nikolai » Tuesday 23rd April, 2013 9:41 pm

Help me out here, are we now back to overrunning after undead crumble?
"At 6 inches tall the Imperial Knight is a towering war engine."
Comrade_Nikolai
Treasurer
 
Posts: 800
Joined: Monday 29th June, 2009 8:57 am

Next

Return to The Dark Nightmare of the Grim Dark Nightmarish Future

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron